Jenny Reeder


Digital Skill #7
December 12, 2006, 8:09 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized

I am a big believer in Zotero And it’s not just because I’ve worked on it at CHNM. I think that it really is the wave of the future. I’m just glad I’ve learned about it at this point in my doctoral education and academic career.

I usually underline and heavily annotate my books while I read. I have started to create a summary of each chapter in the back of the book, and notes from book reviews in the front. But I have not had an in-depth program to collect all this data.

I have created my own Zotero collection with folders on American history, Women’s history, Religious history, and Mormon history, with a sub-folder on Mormon women’s history. I have also created folders for every class I have taken, both in my MA program at NYU and here at Mason. I have added notes to each book with the first note giving a brief summary of the book and additional summary notes for each chapter. Sometimes I’ve even included a note with notes from book reviews.

I think these notes and tags will allow me to prepare for my orals and minor field statements as well as provide important bibliographic information for writing papers and chapters for my dissertation. I think this will save me incredible amounts of time and energy. I’ve already gone back and entered in quite a few books from past readings

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

